The COVID-19 pandemic demonstrated in drastic fashion the inextricable link between human well-being and healthy ecosystems. Today, however, ecosystems and biodiversity around the world are facing considerable societal pressures and are moving dangerously close to critical tipping points: ecosystems and their services are being degraded to such an extent that more than one million animal and plant species are threatened with extinction. Significant non-renewable natural resources are being overexploited while cascading environmental risks threaten the livelihoods of large sections of the population. For these reasons, transformative change seems more urgent than ever.

This is particularly true with regard to spatial development, insofar as the relationship between humans and nature is negotiated and shaped directly in landscapes, regions, cities and urban districts. So what needs to be achieved in spatial development within the next 10 to 20 years to ensure that humans can permanently live in harmony with nature? How can novel human-nature partnerships and vibrant human-nature relationships be shaped at different spatial scales?  

These questions are at the heart of the IOER Conference 2024. In the run-up to the UN Summit of the Future 2024, we investigate which spatial approaches and methods can help to greatly accelerate the replacement of destructive ways of living and doing business with sustainable ones. In particular, the focus is on perspectives and approaches that can enable and drive such transformative change, such as:

  • positive visions of a good life that inspire and motivate individual and collective actors in spatial development;
  • strategies and tools for transformative governance, planning, innovation and revitalisation;
  • complex spatial analyses, indicators, models and simulations;
  • circularity and resilience in building and settlement development;
  • regeneration of ecosystems and biodiversity as well as nature-based solutions.

Link to the detailed description of the tracks

At the IOER Conference 2024, we wish to address this urgent need for social, ecological and technical systems, targets and transformation knowledge on spatial development. You can look forward to presentations by German and international experts and actors as well as by scientists from all IOER research areas.
As part of the conference, the Dresden Leibniz Graduate School, jointly run by the IOER and TU Dresden, is organising its international Summer School for PhD students on the same overarching topic on 25 September 2024.


Submissions to the IOER Conference 2024

You are cordially invited to actively contribute your own work and ideas to the discussion during the conference (in English or German) as well as the DLGS Summer School (in English).

Abstracts and contributions can be submitted in various formats (e.g. presentation, short presentation or dialogue session). These formats allow you to submit individually or as a team with your collaborators, and offer a variety of interaction forms at the conference.

We welcome contributions from a wide range of relevant fields and actors from science and practice.

Deadline for submission of contributions: 2 April 2024
To the submission via online form


Submissions to the DLGS Summer School in the IOER Conference 2024

PhDs students are invited to submit presentations to give at the DLGS Summer School on 25 September 2024. In order to submit your abstracts, please select the format "Summer School presentation" in the online form. Deadline for submissions is also 2 April 2024.

We look forward to welcome you and to a stimulating discussion with you.

Lebenswertes menschliches Dasein ist untrennbar mit gesunden Ökosystemen verwoben – das hat nicht zuletzt die Covid-19-Pandemie drastisch gezeigt. Ökosysteme und Biodiversität unterliegen jedoch weltweit einem erheblichen gesellschaftlichen Veränderungsdruck und stehen vor kritischen Kipppunkten: Ökosysteme und ihre Leistungen sind degradiert. Mehr als eine Million Tier- und Pflanzenarten sind vom Aussterben bedroht. Wesentliche nicht-erneuerbare natürliche Ressourcen sind übernutzt, und verschiedenste Umweltrisiken bedrohen die Lebensgrundlagen großer Bevölkerungsteile. Ein transformativer Wandel erscheint dringlicher denn je.

Dies gilt insbesondere mit Blick auf die räumliche Entwicklung. Denn in Landschaften, Regionen, Städten und Quartieren wird die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Natur ganz unmittelbar verhandelt und gestaltet. Was muss also in der räumlichen Entwicklung getan werden, damit der Mensch wie erforderlich binnen 10 bis 20 Jahren dauerhaft im Einklang mit der Natur leben kann? Wie könnten neue Partnerschaften von Mensch und Natur sowie resonante Mensch-Natur-Beziehungen auf unterschiedlichen räumlichen Maßstabsebenen gestaltet werden?  

Hier setzt die IÖR-Tagung 2024 an und fragt auch mit Blick auf den UN Summit of the Future 2024 nach raumbezogenen Mitteln und Wegen, um die Ablösung destruktiver Lebens- und Wirtschaftsweisen durch nachhaltige erheblich zu beschleunigen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen daher Perspektiven und Ansätze, die transformativen Wandel ermöglichen und forcieren können, zum Beispiel:

  • Positive Visionen eines guten Lebens, die individuelle und kollektive Akteur*innen der Raumentwicklung inspirieren und motivieren
  • Strategien und Instrumente transformativer Governance, Planung, Innovation und Revitalisierung
  • Komplexe datenbasierte Analysen, Indikatoren, Modelle und Simulationen
  • Zirkularität und Resilienz im Bauen und in der Siedlungsentwicklung
  • Regeneration von Ökosystemen und biologischer Vielfalt sowie natur-basierte Lösungen

Link zu den ausführlichen Beschreibungen der Themen-Tracks (in Englisch)

Diesem drängenden Bedarf nach sozial-ökologisch-technischem System-, Ziel- und Transformationswissen zur räumlichen Entwicklung wollen wir uns am 26. und 27. September auf der IÖR-Tagung 2024 widmen. Es erwarten Sie ausgewählte Beiträge von internationalen und nationalen Gästen und Akteur*innen sowie aus allen Forschungsbereichen des IÖR. Expert*innen und Akteur*innen sowie aus allen Forschungsbereichen des IÖR.
Als Teil der Konferenz veranstaltet die Dresden Leibniz Graduate School (DLGS) am 25. September ihre internationale Summer School für Promovierende zum gleichen übergreifenden Thema.


Einreichungen für die IÖR-Tagung 2024

Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, sich mit eigenen Arbeiten und Ideen aktiv in die Diskussion während der Tagung (auf Englisch oder Deutsch) sowie der DLGS Summer School (auf Englisch) einzubringen.

Die Einreichung von Abstracts und Beiträgen ist in verschiedenen Formaten (z. B. Präsentation, Kurzvortrag oder Dialog-Session) möglich. Diese Formate ermöglichen es Ihnen, einzeln oder im Team mit Ihren Partner*innen Beiträge einzureichen und bieten eine Vielzahl von Interaktionsformen auf der Konferenz.

Wir freuen uns über Beiträge aus einem breiten Spektrum relevanter Bereiche und von Akteur*innen aus Wissenschaft und Praxis.

Frist für Einreichungen: 2. April 2024
Zur Einreichung per Online-Formular.


Einreichungen für die DLGS Summer School als Teil der IÖR-Tagung 2024

Promovierende sind eingeladen, Präsentationen für die DLGS Summer School am 25. September 2024 einzureichen. Um Ihre Abstracts einzusenden, wählen Sie bitte im Online-Formular das Format "Summer School presentation". Frist für Einreichungen ist ebenfalls der 2. April 2024.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Beiträge und auf anregende Diskussion mit Ihnen.